Peaceful, hopeful, joyful

I have been trying to get pregnant for six years.  Six frustrating, disappointing, heart wrenching years.

While these words have broadcast through my mind a trillion times, I have never written them down. Because for me, writing them makes them real, it means God is going to make me share them, and frankly, I am not ready to share this part of my life.

But God is funny, and sometimes (read: A LOT of times) He charges me to do things I am not ready to do.  He urges me to step out of the boat, into the stormy sea and as the waves crash around me and the current tries to pull me under, He speaks to my heart and reminds me I am not alone. So, with His quiet urging and His assurance that He is with me, I will share my story.

I married my husband at the ripe old age of 33.  We IMMEDIATELY (like fresh from the altar) started getting a lot of advice about starting a family ASAP because, ”your biological clock is ticking,”  and the ever cheerful “pregnancy and childbirth are SO much more difficult for women of advanced maternal age.”

And yes, this is an actual medical term.

Thankfully, Todd and I dance to the beat of our own drums.  We’re not go with the crowd kinda people….and we were SO EXCITED to be married, we wanted to enjoy it.  So we waited a year before we even started trying to have children.  I must admit I never thought I would have trouble getting pregnant. I expected to be sharing joyful news with our family and friends the next month, or the month after that at the very latest. But the months began to drag on and each of them found me on an emotional roller coaster of hopeful highs and disappointing lows.

I was so vulnerable, so emotionally weak, and so fragile.  I began to listen to the lies satan whispered in my ear.  “You can’t handle motherhood, so God is withholding children from you.” “The child you aborted? That was your chance and you blew it.” “You can’t even train a puppy, what makes you think you can raise a child?”

Ya’ll these lies were destroying me because I was allowing them to replace God’s Truth. I was so focused on the one thing I did not have, I was ignoring and taking for granted all the amazing blessings I do have.  I was becoming my worst nightmare….that bitter old woman who never had kids. I felt surrounded by other’s joyful baby news, and while there was a great part of me happy for them, my happiness was always accompanied by heartache for the child we did not have.

But our God is faithful, ya’ll. As Todd and I are obedient to Him and as we trust His plan for us, He has worked in our lives and blessed us in ways we could never have imagined. God has been clear that if we are to be parents, it is He who will bring that to fruition. He has instructed us to WAIT on Him, and as hard as it is to stand on this when the world around us is trying to push us toward the latest fertility trend, He has continued to bless us for our obedience.

I am not the person I was when this journey started six years ago. God has molded me, shaped me, chiseled me and refined me.  As I promise to praise Him through this storm and as I commit to serve Him, worship Him and seek Him while I wait, He is doing something amazing.  He is empowering me to praise Him not only in the midst of the storm, but FOR the storm. By and through His amazing grace, He has brought me to a point where I can praise Him for my struggle with infertility. Because without this struggle, my heart would still be divided between what I want and what God wants. But because of it my heart is aligned with His.

And I am peaceful. I am hopeful. I am joyful.

I cannot tell you this journey has been easy, but I can tell you it has been worth it.  I am still not pregnant and I may never hear someone call me Mama, but I believe in the depths of my soul, that even without a child to call my own, my life is blessed beyond all I could ask, think or imagine. I am choosing to focus on the plans God has for me because He promises to prosper me and give me a future and a hope. This is the mighty work of a God who loves us more than we can fathom.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11

Father God, we come before You in the name of Your son, Jesus Christ.  Lord, THANK YOU for the storms. Thank You that You have used the storms in my life to bring me closer to You. I pray God, that You will use our stories for Your glory.  May we seek you first in all things and Lord, please help us to trust You when things don’t look the way we expect. God You are sovereign and You are worthy of praise.  We love you Jesus, Amen.

9 thoughts on “Peaceful, hopeful, joyful

  1. I LOVE this post! Your attitude is encouraging, your wisdom is solid, and your hope is secure! I’m praying God continues to bless the socks off of your obedience to Him. I just know that God prompted you to write this for some hurting hearts, today. Thank you for sharing part of your story with us!

    Missy (Proverbs 31 Ministries OBS Team)

    Like

  2. I love praying for you Nichole ! Thanks for sharing your heartache and your Faith. I wrote down your quote: “Because without it, my heart would still be divided between what I want and what God wants. But because of it, my heart is aligned with His.” That really helped me look at some of those things God has put on my plate with a fresh perspective … “align my heart with His” … perfect …
    I am still praying for a Miracle so we can all dance and sing God’s Praises together ! ❤

    Like

  3. I loved your post. Jeremiah 29:11 is such a powerful verse, and one of my favorites. You’re faith and positive attitude shows grace and beauty as a daughter of God. Hugs and prayers sent your way 🙂

    Like

  4. What an awesome reminder that God provides and that we need to really stop and thank Him for all we do have as we wait on Him to deliver what’s best for our lives!! He is faithful and the courage and strength you shared from this trail is inspiring and uplifting. Thank you for sharing your story with us…for being so open and candid about the trial and how you are choosing to walk through it while giving Him the glory!!

    Trish (Proverbs 31 OBS Ministries Team)

    Like

  5. Dearest Nichole,
    Your story is an amazing journey of love and trust. I am thankful for the sharing of what I know has been a difficult but real growth experience. While reading this again, I am reminded of one of my favorite verses: Psalm 27:13-14 – I am still confident of this: that I will see the goodness of The Lord in the land of the living.
    Wait for The Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for The Lord.

    Praying and waiting with you- Sarah

    Like

  6. Thanks for sharing your heart Nichole, I can understand your pain but praise God for your continued trust in Him! You’re an encouragement to all of us! Keep the faith and know that having a child or not doesn’t define who you are!

    Much love,
    Debs

    Like

Leave a comment